10 years ago

Members of the Panhandle Chamber of Commerce met on Tuesday night to learn that the majority of present Board of Directors will resign effective Dec. 31, 2013. The announcement was made by Board President Rick Easter. Mr. Easter told the members that the Board was tired and it was time for younger members to take over.

The Board of Directors met on Friday, Nov. 8 at which time it was decided that members of the Board would step down and that the Chamber would not dissolve if a new Board and Chairman could be elected and take over the duties of the Chamber beginning Jan. 1, 2014.

Following Mr. Easter’s announcement, John Dale Kelly acted as mediator for the group until a motion was made and seconded that Tammy Wendel will act as temporary Chamber Chairman.

Mr. Kelly told the group that resigning Board members would be more than happy to continue on as Chamber members and to advise the incoming Board. Mrs. Wendel will be appointing a nominating committee to seek nominations from the Chamber membership in accordance with the current Chamber bylaws.
Reports and dates for the Christmas Tree Lighting and Shop Panhandle were discussed.

The Christmas Tree Lighting is set for Wednesday evening, Dec. 4 and will be held from 5 to 7 p.m. The lighting event is chaired by Bob Russ. The last organizational meeting for the lighting will be held on Monday evening, Nov. 18, at 7 p.m. at the War Memorial Building. Preparations and decorating for the event will take place on Saturday, Nov. 23 beginning at 8:30 that morning. Lunch will be served to all those working that day. For more information, contact Bob Russ at 279-0465.

Mr. Kelly reported to the group those arrangements for the annual Christmas On Our Town: Shop Panhandle are made and the event will be held on Thursday, Dec. 5. Shop Panhandle is an annual day of shopping and fellowship when Panhandle merchants treat shoppers to extended holiday shopping hours, specials and treats. The evening is topped off with a drawing for gifts at the Square House Museum.

Members and guests in attendance at the meeting were Rick and Anne Easter, John and Clara Jayne Kelly, Billie Poteet, Greg and Tammy Wendel, Christie Allen, Shirlyne Grantham, Glenda Holt, Shelly Fish-Oliver, Art Jewett, Nathan Vogt, Stephanie Neuwirth, Katherine Murray, Sandra Gandy, Bob Russ, Carissa Stamps, Shaun Wink and Dan Looten.